Experimenting with Rusting Fabrics

ImageI first became interested in rusting as a treatment for fabrics when I accidentally damaged a white dress by sitting on a rusty bench which I did not realize was wet. Of course I had a big orange splodge on the bum and this really frustrated me as I tried over and over the use vanish on it. Two years later I plucked up the courage to try and rust the whole dress. I started at home, trying to rust it with metal collected from around Belfast, but did not find the results brights enough. When we started a rusting workshop in Uni the results were so vibrant I knew I had to do the dress again, this time wrapped around a thick metal chain, and the results can be seen above (voila!) on a washing line with the other samples. Now to see if I can wear it without being dyed orange myself!

Image

