Developing a recycled product

For a few years I have wanted to develop a woven material made from plastic bags. I have always been a collector, hating to throw anything away which I think I can give new life to, through re-purposing, technique and imagination.

Plastic bags are a simple and free material for a student on a budget, and I have found recently that once cut into strips there is an unlimited array of things to construct from them. My initial idea was to create a waterproof material from the weaves, and certainly they are water-resistant, however now my focus is more on the colour combinations I can create from the bags, and the products that I can work on for this upcoming Christmas gift market.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

